Monday, March 23, 2015

The history -- who ruled Palestine?

The history -- who ruled Palestine?
Diversity Watch ^ 
Posted on 4/8/2002, 12:52:26 PM by Old economy buyer
3000BC -- Canaanites inhabit Palestine

1125BC -- Israelites conquer the Canaanites

1050BC -- Philistines conquer Israelites.

1000BC -- Under King David, Israelites conquer Philistines and establish the nation of Israel. After his son, King Solomon dies, Israel becomes divided: the north becoming Israel and the south becoming Judah.

722BC -- Israel falls to Assyria

586BC -- Babylon captures Judah -- This defeat resulted in the destruction of Jerusalem and the exile of most of the Jews to Babylon -- the so-called Babylonian captivity.

539BC -- Under Cyrus the Great, the Persians conquered Babylonia. The Jews were allowed to return to Judaea, a district in Palestine.

333BC -- Alexander the Great captures Palestine. His successors -- the Egyptian Ptolemies and the Syrian Seleucids -- tried without success to force Greek culture and religion on the people.

141-63BC -- The Jews revolted and established an independent state. This lasted until Pompey the Great conquered Palestine for Rome and made it a province of the Roman Empire ruled by Jewish kings. Rome ruled Palestine for about 700 years.

638AD -- Palestine is invaded by Muslim Arab armies that capture Jerusalem. Thus begins 1300 years of Muslim presence in what becomes known as Filastin.

1517 -- The Mamelukes are defeated by the Ottomans, who rule Palestine for the next four hundred years -- until the winter of 1917-18.

1880s -- With the rise of anti-Semitism in Europe, Jews begin to migrate to Palestine.

1917-18 -- The British takes Palestine from the Ottomans at the end of World War I.

1917 -- Britain creates Balfour Declaration that outlines conditions to create a "national home" for Jews in Palestine. With this declaration, Britain hoped to gain the support of the Jews for the Allied cause in World War I.

July 24 1922 -- The declaration was incorporated into the League of Nations mandate for Palestine. It outlines the terms under which Britain was given responsibility for temporary administration of the country. The mandate lasted from 1922-1948.

1935 -- Over 60,000 Jews come into Palestine.

1936 -- Because of a fear of Jewish domination, an Arab revolt broke out. This continues on and off until 1939.

1947 -- Britain declares the mandate unworkable and passes the problem over to the United Nations. Under David Ben-Gurion, the Jewish army fights against the Arab
Palestinians and defeats them.

On May 14th 1948, the State of Israel is created. Because of this, five Arab states, in support of the Palestinians, attack the new state but are defeated. This is known as the first Arab-Israeli War. As a result of the war, 780,000 Palestinians became refugees.

1964 -- The Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) is founded as a political body representing the Palestinians.

1967 -- In another war between Israel and the Arabs (commonly known as the Six Days War), Israel gains control of the West Bank, the Gaza Strip and other areas previously controlled by the Arabs.

1970 -- The PLO commandos fight with the Jordanian army. The PLO is expelled from the country and settles in Lebanon. The Israeli invasion of Lebanon is 1982 is conducted to disperse some 12,000 PLO members to Syria and other Arab countries.

1988 -- All territorial claims to the Israeli-held West Bank are ceded to the PLO by Jordanian King Hussein.
In December, the United States agrees for the first time to begin direct contact with the PLO.

1991 -- After the Gulf War, the Syrian-backed Lebanese army forced the PLO to retreat from its positions in southern Lebanon.

After decades of violence, conflict and disagreement, PLO leader Yasser Arafat and Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin meet in the United States on 13 September (1993) to witness the signing of a peace accord between the two groups. The plan stipulated Palestinian self-rule in Israeli-occupied areas, beginning with the Gaza Strip and Jericho.

In May 1994, Palestinian control and administration of these areas began. Israeli forces withdraw from Jericho and the Gaza Strip. The Palestinian National Authority assumes control of the areas.

1995 -- Israeli Prime Minister Rabin is assassinated by an Israeli opposed to the peace accord.

1996 -- Binyamin Netanyahu wins the election. Arab leaders are upset by his ultra-conservative views. Netanyahu considerably slows down the peace process.

1998 -- Netanyahu and Arafat meet for peace negotiations at Aspen Institute's Wye River Conference Centre. On 23 October the peace deal is signed (the Wye Accord).
In December, 1998, as part of the Wye Accord, members of the Palestine National Council voted to remove clauses from the PLO's charter that call for the destruction of Israel.

May 1999 -- Israelis elect a new Prime Minister, Ehud Barak, to lead them in the peace process with the Palestinians and neighbouring states.

Sept 2000 -- Intense violence escalates. More than 400 people die in Israel in a matter of 14 weeks (380 Palestinians).

December 2000 -- Barak resigns.

February 2001-- Ariel Sharon is elected Prime Minister. Sharon's victory comes 18 years after an Israeli government investigation found Sharon indirectly responsible for the Sabra and Shatila massacre, in which hundreds of Palestinian refugees were killed in Lebanon, and forced his removal as defense minister, crushing his political ambitions.

He was elected to restore Israel's peace and security in the wake of four-month-long clashes between Palestinians and Israelis. (Ironically, the violence that has killed so far more than 360 Palestinians and over 50 Israeli Jews began at the end of September, after Sharon paid a controversial visit to a Jerusalem shrine.)

No comments:

Post a Comment